Remember.

 

I remember last December when the cold pierced her like an arrow. The call of a crow replaced that of a sparrow’s.

I remember last December when the remedies started to fail. “Stay strong, my love” I told her “death will not prevail.”

I remember last December the look upon her fragile face. The crimson had just dissolved when she had said her final grace.

I remember last December when she was awaken by the dark. They took her away and now she is stained. Forever by their mark.

I remember last December when they came to see me here. Sweet recollection and strained laughter, not enough to hold back my tears.

I remember last December when reality came running home. It burst straight through the door and saw me sitting there. Without her. Alone.

I remember last December when I tried my hand at death. Only upon failing, I realized it had left.

I shall not remember this, my last, December that marks the year she died. The noose was made from her golden hair, the chair, from the tears she cried.

2 thoughts on “Remember.

  1. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed looking through the pieces you’ve put up. I’m drawn to this one and had to leave a comment. There’s so much beauty in your words. Heartbreaking but beautiful. You my dear have a talent! I really look forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is beautiful. Such a range of emotions have been brought up by this piece. Thank you so much for sharing. I look forward to reading more. Your writing is beautiful and I can only hope to achieve your level of writing some day. Thank you for sharing your talents.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

