Turnover. 

I keep Coming up
Empty handed

But I’ll hand it to you. 

You couldn’t have 

handled it better. 
I can’t say that I didn’t try

But I got tired 

Of being tried

Day after day

When you didn’t even 

Try to try.  
And I’m clueless 

As to why 

You’d even put forth 

The effort

if you were just going

To call it quits 

Before halftime. 

I guess 

The thought of winning

Was just too much

For you to fathom.

And all you could think of

Was the next pass you 

Were going to get. 

And I was just 

Another turnover. 
It’s funny,

I could leave you 

Out of breathe 

But you couldn’t 

Return the favor. 

Left me like

A good wine

Dry. 

And not because

Of the flavor. 

Spit it out 

‘Cause I don’t 

want to savor 

You.

4 thoughts on “Turnover. 

  1. As I read through this poem, line by line, all I could think was “There isn’t any way Autmn could put even more feeling into this.” Then with every line after that I just got more and more into it and read more and more feeling.

    “Left me like/ A good wine/ Dry./ And not because/ Of the flavor./ Spit it out/ ‘Cause I don’t/ want to savor/ You.”

    This is beutiful and brilliant. We’ve all been there and I think you captured it perfectly. Awesome piece!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for all of your positive comments in response to my writing. You make me feel like my writing means something to someone other than just myself. And I’m realizing that’s all I’ve ever wanted in life. I am forever grateful.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely. It’s easy to give compliments and positive feedback when it’s so easily deserved. I look forward to reading more things from you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

